At the risk of sounding like a broken record….

I am at a loss. I may have said this before, but it’s been a while since I posted on here and I feel like using my imaginary pedestal to talk about something that’s frustrating me. I finished the first draft of my novel back in the middle of december. I let it sit for awhile as everything on the internet here told me to do, though I should probably admit that while I let it sit, it did simmer in the back of my head for a couple of months, so I didn’t really let it all go. Either way, I got back to fussing with it late in March.

I joined the absolute write forums and have learned a lot on it. I also was lucky enough to manage to score a 2500 word critique from Ms. P.N. Elrod. Between the two sources I managed to start writing a new draft that I thought was better at the time, though another post on the forums found that most of the comments declared my older work better. Of course, keep in mind that these comments were comparing on the first 200 words of the manuscript. A manuscript that is 85,000 words. Unfortunately, it has proved difficult moving on with this new draft being so unsure of moving in the right direction. I am certain I am not the only writer who ever feels this way.

Now I’m stuck. I can’t decide whether to attempt to line edit the original draft, try to continue on with the new draft, or try something new altogether. I really have no concrete ideas for a new story, but I have been playing with the idea of taking the prospective series that the above draft was the first book of and writing a new draft placed elsewhere on the giant timeline.

I want to write. Lately I’ve felt the unending urge to write. Yet as I stare a blank pages day after day I find myself using excuses not to, such as playing playstation or finding something else to do. 

What would you do? Is a first draft a suitable candidate for mere line edits? Or does it need an extensive re-write. 

Leave a Reply

